Junge Erwachsene und die Schönheit

“Generation Y” also called “Millennials”

Who is behind the so-called Generation Y?

“Millennials” is the term used to call the generation born between 1980 and 1996. True to it’s name, the “Y” is pronounced like “Why”: This generation questions a lot and sees their self and other images very self-critical, especially in the Instagram age. And we also recognize in Plastic and Aesthetic Surgery that these “Millennials” have a different approach to Botox, Fillers and Co.

For a long time Botulinum toxin – developed 20-30 years ago – was exclusively used to treat wrinkles. Patients wanted to have their forehead wrinkles, frown lines or crow’s feet removed. At the moment, we notice that our patients are getting younger and younger, wanting more gentle treatments, but then more often. Especially in the time of social media (Facebook, Instagram and Whats App), selfies are constantly being taken, sent and uploaded. According to data from the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, the number of Botox treatments in 22- to 37-year-old patients increased by 22 percent between 2013 and 2018.

-> “Millennials” want an improvement of the face, in terms of “preservation” and “preventing”.

Many young patients want to use cosmetic and plastic surgery, although no aging process is yet visible. This trend is increasingly evident in Asian countries and South America and is now coming to Europe. People in their 20’s want to carry out smaller, more discreet treatments to stop the aging process as soon as possible and to prevent wrinkles from even beginning to arise. A smooth and even complexion is especially important to you.

Filler

The so-called “selfie culture” calls for smooth and even skin, stronger contours, fuller lips, a tight neck and chin contour (Jawline contour, Texas Face), and highlighted cheekbones. Hyaluron, dermal fillers such as Radiesse® and high-focussed ultrasound are used. Ultherapy® is one of the best treatment options to achieve beautiful results with minimal risk and to sustainably tighten the tissue. Between 500-700 fine lines are ultrasonically treated from the neck over the face to stimulate collagen formation and to preserve the firmness of the tissue. The motto is: repair less, get more.

Botulinumtoxin

Botox-treatment is still the patients’ #1 choice- they know it can treat wrinkles with preventive care. The Millennials’ desire is to preserve their natural appearance, retain a residual facial expression, reduce wrinkles on the forehead and crow’s feet. You want a Botox treatment to prevent wrinkles and prophylactic “rejuvenation”. We like to use “Baby Botox”: This is Botox in a lower dose. Although this treatment lasts less long, it works very naturally as the movement is maintained. Since the total dose is lower, you have to repeat the treatment every 3-4 months. “Millennials” gladly accept this. Preferably less and more natural, but more often.

Junge Erwachsene und die Schönheit

„Generation Y“ oder auch „Millennials“ genannt

Wer steckt hinter der sogenannten Generation Y?

Millennials wird die Generation genannt, die zwischen 1980 und 1996 geboren ist. Der Name ist Programm, das „Y“ wird wie „Why“ ausgesprochen: diese Generation hinterfragt viel und sieht ihr Selbst-und Fremdbild gerade in dieser heutigen Instagram-Zeit sehr selbstkritisch. Und wir erkennen auch in der Plastischen und Ästhetischen Chirurgie, dass eben diese „Millennials“ einen anderen Zugang zu Botox, Fillern und Co. haben.

Botulinumtoxin war lange Zeit, vor 20-30 Jahren als es entwickelt wurde, ein Produkt, das ausschließlich Falten behandelte, also mehr etwas reparierte. Patientinnen wollten ihre Stirnfalten, Zornesfalten oder Krähenfüße entfernt haben. Momentan bemerken wir an unseren Patienten, dass sie immer jünger werden, sanftere Behandlungen möchten, diese aber dann öfter in Anspruch nehmen. Gerade in der Zeit von Social Media (Facebook, Instagram und Whats App), werden permanent Selfies produziert, verschickt und hochgeladen. Laut Daten der „American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery“ nahm die Zahl der Botoxbehandlungen bei 22- bis 37-jährigen Patienten von 2013 bis 2018 um 22 Prozent zu.

–> „Millennials“ wünschen eine Verbesserung des Gesichts, im Sinne des „Erhaltens“ und „Vorbeugens“.

Viele junge Patientinnen möchten die Ästhetische und Plastische Chirurgie in Anspruch nehmen, obwohl noch kein Alterungsprozess sichtbar ist. Dieser Trend ist in asiatischen Ländern und Südamerika immer stärker zu beobachten und kommt jetzt auch zu uns nach Europa. Die „Mitzwanziger“ wollen kleinere, dezentere Behandlungen durchführen, um den Alterungsprozess frühestmöglich zu stoppen und Falten gar nicht erst aufkommen zu lassen.  Ein ebenes und glattes Hautbild ist Ihnen besonders wichtig.

Filler

Die sogenannte „Selfie-Kultur“ verlangt nach ebenmäßiger & glatter Haut, stärkeren Konturen, volleren Lippen, einer straffen Hals-Kinn Kontur (Jawline Kontur, Texas Face), und hervorgehobenen Backenknochen. Zum Einsatz kommen Hyaluron, Dermalfiller wie Radiesse® und hochfokussierter Ultraschall. Ultherapy® ist eine der besten Behandlungsmöglichkeiten, um mit minimalem Risiko schöne Ergebnisse zu erreichen und das Gewebe nachhaltig zu straffen. Es werden zwischen 500-700 feine Linien vom Hals über das Gesicht verteilt mit Ultraschall behandelt, um die Kollagenbildung anzuregen und die Straffheit des Gewebes zu bewahren. Das Motto lautet: weniger reparieren, mehr erhalten.

Botulinumtoxin

Die Behandlung mit Botox ist noch immer die Nummer 1 bei den Patienten – sie wissen, dass Falten damit präventiv behandelt werden können. Der Wunsch der „Millennials“ ist, ihr natürliches Aussehen zu bewahren, eine Restmimik zu behalten, Faltenbildung an Stirn und Krähenfüßen zu reduzieren. Sie möchten eine Botox-Behandlung zum Vorbeugen der Faltenbildung und zur prophylaktischen „Verjüngung“. Wir verwenden dazu gerne „Baby-Botox“ (LINK Blogbeitrag): das ist Botox in geringerer Dosis. Diese Behandlung hält zwar weniger lang, wirkt aber sehr natürlich, da die Bewegung erhalten bleibt. Da die Gesamtdosis geringer ist , muss man die Behandlung alle 3-4 Monaten wiederholen. Das nehmen „Millennials“ aber gerne in Kauf. Lieber weniger und natürlicher, dafür öfter.